Skip to content

SAD Time

October 30, 2009

Now that the weather has changed and the days are getting shorter, my mood & energy level have started to slide down the tubes.  Last week, my GP wrote me a prescription for a SAD lamp.  None of my disability benefits cover the cost of this piece of equipment, so I am breaking into my dwindling contingency fund in order to purchase this.  But I totally think it’s going to be worth it, especially after we change the clocks this weekend.  That’s when it’s going to be very important for me to have the lamp.  So, after lunch with Shan, I’m off to the pharmacy to pick up my new little friend.  I hope it helps!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2009 1:54 pm

    I have heard great things about those lamps. I think that I could possibly suffer from SAD but the bank of daylight flourescents on the wall of plant shelves is in the room we spend the most time in, and Ithink they must provide the light benefit I need. At least, it isn’t so bad since we put up the shelves.

  2. October 30, 2009 2:20 pm

    How much is it? You could ask for donations.

  3. October 30, 2009 5:45 pm

    It sounds like a good idea. I know someone with one who says it makes a big difference for him to get through the winter here on the lower mainland (all those grey days as well).

  4. October 31, 2009 6:45 pm

    Kickass! I just fished mine out of the closet for the winter, too. It really seems to help.

Leave a comment