Skip to content

Another Bear Sighting, More Photos

September 19, 2010

I was out at Shan’s parents’ place on Friday to pick hazelnuts off their lovely hazelnut tree, and all of a sudden a big brown head popped up from behind some berry bushes.  I was being watched!  I was on a ladder!  I didn’t have my camera on me!

I got down from the ladder as quickly as I could and retrieved my camera from inside, and proceeded to take this series of shots from up the ladder & then down on the ground.

Do not worry or panic!  I took all of these with a 4x and 5x zoom!  I was a good distance from the bear and right near the house.  I was armed with a well-used air horn.

The bear was well behaved and stayed in his little spot, alternating between eating berries and looking worried & forlorn at the nuts rapidly disappearing from his favourite hazelnut tree.

Look at that cute little face!

Full Flickr set here.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2010 12:07 pm

    He is a rather handsome and distinguished-looking gentleman, but…”little?”

    Lol!

    • September 19, 2010 1:17 pm

      Well he was no cub, but he wasn’t a big bear, either. He might have been a yearling…He was, oh, medium-sized.

  2. September 19, 2010 1:38 pm

    Do the bears know they are supposed to run when someone blows the bear horn? I am pretty gutsy but I don’t think I would like to be very close to a bear. I love seeing other people get close to them though. Ha.

  3. September 19, 2010 3:31 pm

    Great shots. How exciting!

  4. bookwoman permalink
    September 19, 2010 5:33 pm

    What a sweet little bruin. I am glad you weren’t too close. Enjoy those hazlenuts.

  5. September 20, 2010 5:32 am

    I continue to love your meetings with the bears. I hope you left some hazelnuts for the cute fella.

  6. September 20, 2010 7:43 pm

    Great shots! I can’t wait to see a Canadian bear….one day…

  7. September 20, 2010 8:06 pm

    I think you need to change your name to Wandering Bear Spotter LOL. They are obviously as intrigued by you as you are by them! What a cute one.

  8. September 22, 2010 3:13 pm

    Cute bear. They are so cute from a safe distance.

    I don’t know the bear horn. I just bought the Bear Banger. It’s the size of a pen, and you screw on a cap that you shoot into the air and it sounds like a shot gun going off, so the bear leaves the area. It also came with a flare cap as well, so it sounds and flares. It’s very handy because it’s also small enough to carry in my pocket when I go for a run.

Leave a comment